Happy Thanksgiving!

To those of you who celebrate. And to those of you who do not…Happy Thursday?

I’m sorry it’s been a while since I’ve updated anything. The blame lies squarely with real life and a massive case of writer’s block, so hopefully I’ll be able to get back on track now that I’ve finally finished a new chapter of one of too-many works in progress.

But on a much more somber note, as many of you know by now we recently lost one of our own, unexpectedly and way too soon.

EIM

I didn’t “know” Angela, but I didn’t feel right not mentioning her unexpected passing. I’ve followed her stories, both here on WordPress and on FFN for years, so I would like to think I came to know parts of her through her writing. Her flair for witty prose told me she was smart and had an awesome sense of humor. The way she wrote interactions between the characters we’ve come to adore told me she valued friendship and family and that she was fiercely protective of both. Her imagination seemed endless, just like her talent, and our small community is poorer without her in it. But we are richer for having had her been a part of it, if only for a short while.

I can’t even begin to imagine what her family is now going through. Angela leaves behind six children and a fund has been set up to help cover the costs of her funeral and the care of her children. Even though the goal was met within twenty-four hours, it would be wonderful if any of you who’ve enjoyed reading her stories over the years and are able to, to make a donation if you can on this day of giving thanks. But either way I ask that you keep her family in your thoughts and prayers.

Thinking of Angela made me remember how often she would quote the classics in her stories, The Count of Monte Cristo among them. I, however, am not so well read, but in tribute to her I leave you with this…

Dumas

The Hunting Grounds – Chapter Five

9 comments on “Happy Thanksgiving!

  1. theladykt says:

    Nice pic hun. She will be missed.

  2. Happy Thanksgiving! That’s terrible news about the writer Angela. Can anyone tell me her pen name and/or stories?

  3. switbo says:

    Happy thanksgiving to you too. Thanks so much for the update. Your words about EIM were lovely. Her loss is so terrible and I feel for her family so much. It makes me so thankful for my family and just makes me want to hug my kids and never let them go.

  4. kleannhouse says:

    nicely said, she would appreciate your thoughtfullness that you added her to your blog, the quote was perfect. Happy Thanksgiving Kristie

  5. msbuffy says:

    A very fitting tribute to a lovely young woman. Happy Thanksgiving to you & your family.

  6. sakshichopra says:

    She was one of my favorite writers :(….And I was just re-reading one of her stories…feeling really sad at the news…Here’s a prayer for her family and their well being….I hope they find it in themselves to cope and move forward.

    Thank you KJ for sharing the news here on your blog.

    And welcome back…I am a hindu and don’t celebrate thanksgiving but I sure am thankful for your update and can use a dose of KJwrit’enism right about now :)…

  7. Magpie says:

    That was a lovely tribute to someone so talented and generous, who will be much missed.

    I’d like to say thank you to you too, kjwrit, for all your stories & the fun I’ve had reading them over the last year. I am a lurker usually, but I’m making an effort to let all the great writers I’ve found online know how much I appreciate them & the time they put into their stories. I’m sure you can guess why.

    I’m really glad to see you back. I loved All In, and Tales of the Dead in particular. You have a great sense of humour. And I’m enjoying HUnting Grounds, even though I have no idea what happens in the Hunger Games. (But I am a fan of Battle Royale so …)

    Hope you had a good Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

