The Taming of the Shrew…

And I don’t mean a Shakespearean play where questionable tactics are used to “tame” a woman.

I mean Shrewby Doo.

Shrewby Doo Shrewby Doo 2 shrewby Doo 3

I caught the little bastard in one of those humane mouse traps in my kitchen after discovering the kitchen trash bags had been torn open from the inside of the can. And seeing as how it was colder than a witch’s mammary outside, I put it into one of several spare aquariams I have, with the thought of releasing him/her when it got warm.

That was a month ago. It’s still not warm.

And now the little shit is fat and happy because I make trips to the pet store just so I can feed it 20 nasty mealworms twice a day. I’m not saying we’re going to being cuddling anytime soon (they’re venomous AND adorably small enough to be confused with a Bic lighter), but I was just trying to be nice. I have enough pets to take care of. The last thing I need is some poisonous fat bastard chirping at me for its dinner.

But then my mother found out about it and vowed to not come over again until I got rid of it.

So…this is a forever pet, isn’t it?

What do YOU think
Aww maaaannnn…

The Debt – Chapter Thirteen – Aware

10 comments on “The Taming of the Shrew…

  1. meridiean says:

    So, you’ve named her/him Ned and invested in meal worms, right?

  2. Anaman says:

    Oh this is super cute and very thoughtful of you! I’m really impressed!

  3. Jfozz says:

    Ok, googling whatever a shrew is. Obviously we don’t have them in Australia. They sound cute though.

  4. msbuffy says:

    So that’s how it’s done! I wish I’d thought of that years ago! So clever!

  5. spicysalmon says:

    “One of the venom components, a peptide called soricidin, has been patented and is being investigated in Canada for pain control and as an anticancer drug. Another component is being studied in Japan as an antihypertensive agent.[13]”

    So apparently, this thing’s got a deadly (to other shit the size of a lighter) bite that also heals. Why does that sound like someone else I (we) know?

  6. kleannhouse says:

    great mother repellant, love it KY

  7. MissPharao says:

    hahaha … your humor is one of a kind! I love it! After your Mom’s reaction, I would definitely keep him. And on the next vacation: “Hey mom, can you take him?” … “Oh, GREAT. Thanks, BYE!”

  8. gwynwyvar says:

    My mother has told (threatened) me about moving interstate so that she can be closer to me…. And ‘help’ me… I think mahyap, I shall follow your example.
    Although, she’d probably just soend money she doesn’t have, so that she could fly here and drown the poor retch.

    Ok, I was living in a happy wonderland for a second there (which I do thank you for *smile*). Guess I better make other plans.

    Good luck with your new pet rat. Hope it brings you lots of peaceful days 🙂

  9. ragna01 says:

    Sweetheart, if it wasnt for the inconvenience of feeding the little thing, I would have said that you have discovered the holy grail!!! Now… I just have to discover what is MY MOTHER S “shrew”, something that spares me the guiltrips, the nagging, etc. Any ideas???

Leave a Reply

