Please excuse this brief Mommy-moment…

VMI logo

My baby – my firstborn not named Zack – got accepted to his number one pick for college. If you click their logo it’ll take you to their homepage if you’re interested. Apparently the incoming cadets are called “Rats,” but hey, I’m already down with the shrews so what’s a little more vermin?

But he’s so happy. And I’m so wishing I hadn’t cut the umbilical cord. But I’ll get over it, right? And by the looks of it he gets study mechanical engineering in a castle and wear nifty stuff like this:

VMI parade-slide

And look all “I-Can-Kill-You-With-Nothing-More-Than-This-Stare”, with his little Superman cape breezing behind him:

VMI all-military-slide
Hey! Who knew Derek Jeter (bringing up the rear) went to VMI?

But I must admit, the uniforms put me a little bit in mind of this:

Cap'n Crunch

Right? I mean, just look:

Cap'n VMI

He fits right in! 🙂

/Mommy-moment

Now, for this fanfic business. There was just a ridiculous amount of past tense usage going on when I attempted to write the next chapter of The Debt from Eric’s POV. Now I know some of you are enjoying their interactions, but what can I say?

She can go out in the sunlight and he can’t. There won’t always be an overlap between them.

That being said, this next one is from Sookie’s POV too. But at least you’ll get a few more answers on what’s going on with the Stackhouses. *skarsbrow*

The Debt – Chapter Fourteen – Penance

15 comments on “Please excuse this brief Mommy-moment…

  1. duckbutt60 says:

    Blessings to your boy! He’s growing up to be a fine man!! And….it’s partly because he’s got a wonderful, off-the-wall mom!!

  2. Aww that’s awesome for your son! Congrats! Sounds like you’ve done a good job raising a good man 🙂 ‘Merica!

  3. gwynwyvar says:

    Congrats for your boy! Glad he is so excited 🙂

  4. theladykt says:

    wow this brings back memories. this was one of two colleges I wanted to go to, but they didn’t admit women back then anyway. In the end, I joined the air force right out of HS.

  5. luvvamps says:

    Congrats to the proud Momma!

  6. Angie_stl says:

    Congrats to the kid!! I was totally getting toy soldiers from The Nutcracker, or maybe even the Nutcracker himself, from those super awesome uniforms!! They just need to be made of plastic or have levers in their back and big gaping mouths to crush walnuts in!! Fun!

  7. spicysalmon says:

    Congrats mama, you must be so proud!

    *stares at 5 month old son nursing right boob*

    “Don’t grow up too quickly.”

    Must be bittersweet, huh?

  8. valady1 says:

    VMI has a beautiful campus and it’s not that far from several other large Virginia universities. My middle son went to Radford for a year and several of his friends went to Virginia Tech. That part of the state is breathtaking in the spring and fall. Congratulations to your son…(loved the Captain Crunch overlay, made me laugh out loud).

  9. msbuffy says:

    Congratulations to all of you! What an honor to be accepted at such a prestigious & historic institution. I do feel for you though…it’s so hard to let them go…I write as I sit here watching MY baby boy’s 4-year-old write his name. It goes by so fast! You have a son to be proud of, and that’s a reflection of the way in which you raised him! Be proud, Mom!

  10. Lynette says:

    I have not had a chance to read the chapter yet, but wanted to tell you, your son, and whoever else that helped (pushed) him along congratulations. My baby is 16 and I don’t know if I am eagerly waiting for him leave for college or dreading it. LOL

  11. Shortscotwifey says:

    Well done to your son, how exciting for him and you too. And excellent chapter to. I admit the uniforms look really cool Be as proud as you want we don’t mind honestly.

  12. LZ says:

    Congrats to you and your son! I live in the Shenandoah Valley and used to live in Lexington. My husband and I know several VMI grads and Lexington is a charming little town.

  13. ali989969 says:

    Yay Momma Writ and The Boy! VMI is an awesome school… many members of my family went there when it was all-male and after. It’s about 90 minutes from where I live and I’m sure you’ve seen how pretty Lexington is. I have about 9 years before my own Boy leaves the nest, but at least Sunshine is home for a couple more years (right?).

Leave a Reply

